Ever feel like the BIG 12 Refs are inexperienced/miss a lot of easy calls? Well you aren’t the only fish in the sea. Born, raised, and currently living in Western Kansas, I’ve been bleeding purple for most of my life. Going to pretty much every home game, I see a lot of missed calls and bad calls. I also watch other BIG 12 games and see a lot of blown calls and bad judgement done by referee’s. I’ve also noticed when some refs make calls, they don’t call it right. They miss the correct player, stutter, and also explain the call for 2-3 minutes sometimes. Here’s some of the biggest blown calls in BIG 12 Reffing:

  • Obvious travel @ Iowa State
    • This was actually just last night, when K-State played Iowa State. I’m a K-State fan and I know this was an easy call. K-State got out to a fast break and one of our players jumped with the ball and never let go of it. He came down completely to the ground, I literally said travel to my dad, but then I never heard a whistle after that. He went back up and made a layup, but Iowa State is lucky that the game wasn’t any closer than it was, because I know every single fan saw the travel.
  • The WORST call in NCAA Basketball to this date
    • That was the most blatant travel in college basketball to this day and age. You guys are probably going to think I’m biased toward my team on this, but it was the most obvious travel ever. I don’t care what team you like, Svi’s travel was, HANDS DOWN, the BIGGEST BLOWN CALL, in NCAA Basketball, TO THIS DATE!!!!! Twitter went wild after this one.
  • Inexperienced refs in Ames
    • Go to YouTube and look up “Iowa State vs TCU 2012 bad call.” Watch the video, then come back.
      • The first thing I have to say is how on earth was it a catch at first. Thankfully they ruled it incomplete later, but they’ve gotta be smarter than calling it a catch at first.
      • The next thing is what about intentional grounding? He was inside the hashes and he threw a bad pass where nobody was. Inexperienced refs showed up to that game.
  • Oklahoma State’s lucky first down in the Little Apple
    • The guy was short by a long shot, but, yet again, the BIG 12 Refs make another crucially, big mistake. He was well short of the first down. I was also at this game, and didn’t have the greatest of seats, but it was obvious enough for me to see it from my seat.

I’m sure all of us Big 12 fans have long lists of reffing mistakes, it’s hard to catch all of them, because there are way too many for being a collegiate referee. The Big 12 needs to make sure that these guys have the proper schooling, because they are missing obvious calls and it hurts the Big 12’s reputation when the games aren’t called fairly. So, if they don’t, it’s not that hard to tell them they can’t be a ref. I mean, seriously they miss THE most CRUCIAL calls ever. I’m not quite sure if it was Big 12 refs in Stillwater, when Central Michigan touched the ground and lateraled the ball. But if it was, we are terrible at hiring referees. I like to read the “BIG 12 Refs” Twitter page from time to time, it’s just a parody account making fun of the calls that are missed. I hope you enjoyed my rant and I think we all hope that we can get a Big 12 team in the College Football Playoff next fall. Thank you for reading my rant, I hope you continue to come back and read. I’ll catch y’all on the flip side.

Leave a comment